The ExploraVision competition for K-12 students engages the next generation in real world problem solving with a strong emphasis on STEM. ExploraVision challenges students to envision and communicate new technology 20 years in the future through collaborative brainstorming and research of current science and technology. There is one project chosen to be the Regional winner. Our region includes the entire Canada as well as 9 states (Iowa, Michigan, Indiana, Illinois, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin, South Dakota and North Dakota). Our students have been chosen as a Regional Winner for their robotic pet D.A.I.S.Y.

  • D.A.I.S.Y (Depression Assistance In Senior Years): Rachel Kingstone, Danielle Wellen, Bianca Stern (Baycrest mentor)
  • Each member wins a Toshiba hard drive. The school wins a laptop.
  • You can read the team’s abstract below:

D.A.I.S.Y (Depression Assistance In Senior Years)

Many older adults suffer from depression due to the changes that accompany growing older. Taking care of a dog can negate feelings of isolation and loneliness, which are a trigger for geriatric depression. Studies show that older adults who own pets have lower blood pressure, higher levels of serotonin and dopamine, decreased risk of heart attacks and don’t need to see their doctors as often. Despite these benefits, many older adults worry that they will not be able to take care of a pet, and this deters them from adopting a dog. We propose a robotic pet, named D.A.I.S.Y, which stands for Depression Assistance In Senior Years, that will simulate the companionship of a live pet by responding to human emotions and independently interacting with its owner. Our robotic pet will benefit the mental and physical health of elderly people without the cost and care of a living pet.


The Honorable Mention awards are given to the top 10% of all ExploraVision projects. The Mackenzie projects that received honorable mention are:

  • Motor Nerve Replacement Chip: Elizabeth Shim, Sarah Kang, Andrew Kim, Spencer Giffin (mentor)
  • Hearing Aid Technology: Oscar Chong, Jordan Epstein, Simona Poroshenko, Yi Deng, Rosanna Olsen (mentor)
  • HealthBots: Emma Lam, Esha Mahabir, Lina Patrick, Simon Cheesman (mentor)

Congratulations to all students who participated and thank you to Ms. Law for her tremendous support!